Spinal Degeneration Phases

The Phases of Spinal Degeneration...

Degeneration Phase 1
The first stage of spinal degeneration begins when there is a minor loss of normal spine balance and spinal curvature. This causes the surrounding features of the spine such as nerves, discs and joints to begin aging quicker and to grow continually more stressed. This stage of the degeneration process rarely is accompanied with any major pain. Fortunately, there is an excellent chance that your body can return to a normal state if you seek proper care at this early stage.

Degeneration Phase 2
In the second stage of spinal degeneration, there is a often narrowing of the discs and potential deformation in the bones. Your posture is often beginning to degenerate as well at this point. As the spinal canal opening begins to narrow, significant aches and pains develop as a result. Fatigue and stress are more common at this stage but there is still a a good chance of improvement at this stage with proper chiropractic care.

Degeneration Phase 3
In the third stage of spinal degeneration, there is significant negative impact to the body both physically and mentally due to the progression of the issues that developed in Phases 1 and 2. There is most likely nerve damage as well as deformation of the bones and discs. There would a significant loss of energy and height at this point. Some reversal is possible.

Degeneration Phase 4
In the fourth stage of spinal degeneration, most damage is permanent including scar tissue, nerve damage and deformation. At this point, the condition is irreversible. Management of pain and discomfort is the best option here.

Contact Us

Health questions or practice question from prospective patient?

Our Location

Find us on the map

Office Hours

Find Out When We Are Open


7:30 am-12:00 pm

3:00 pm-6:00 pm


9:00 am-11:00 am

3:00 pm-6:00 pm


7:30 am-12:00 pm

3:00 pm-6:00 pm


3:00 pm-5:00 pm


7:30 am-12:00 pm


Twice monthly; 9:00 am - 10:00 am